EU approves 13th package of sanctions against Russia

The European Union approved the 13th package of individual and economic sanctions against Russia, according to a press release published Friday.

The latest sanctions, which were timed to mark the second-year anniversary of Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine, target 106 individuals and 88 legal entities. They will affect individuals connected to the Russian Defence Ministry, including “those involved in DPRK armament supply to Russia”, as well as Russian politicians and individuals responsible for illegally deporting Ukrainian children.

The list includes companies based in India, Sri Lanka, China, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Thailand and Turkey.

US President Joe Biden also announced new sanctions against Russia for the death of Navalny and the ongoing war in Ukraine. Biden said in a statement on Friday that the sanctions would “target individuals connected to Navalny’s imprisonment”, Russia’s financial sector and defence industry, as well as “sanctions evaders across multiple continents”.

Editor in chief — Kirill Martynov. Terms of use. Privacy policy.