Russia denounces Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe it suspended in 2007

Russia’s president Vladimir Putin has issued an order that denounces Russia’s participation in the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe, the government website says.

Deputy Foreign Minister Sergey Ryabkov has been appointed presidential representative for the initiative to be considered in the parliament.

The Treaty limits five categories of conventional weapons and equipment: tanks, armoured combat vehicles, artillery of 100 mm calibre and larger, combat aircraft, attack helicopters, and also provides for the exchange of information and extensive inspection activities.

The Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe was signed in Paris in 1990 by 22 countries, including the Soviet Union. The Adapted Conventional Armed Forces in Europe Treaty was signed during the 1999 Istanbul summit and only ratified by Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Ukraine. Georgia and Moldova refused to ratify the treaty and demanded that Russia withdraw its troops from the two countries according to commitments it made at the same summit.

Russia suspended its participation in the treaty in 1999.

Editor in chief — Kirill Martynov. Terms of use. Privacy policy.