UNGA adopts resolution on Russia’s reparations for Ukraine

The UN General Assembly has adopted a resolution on holding Russia accountable for the war in Ukraine, TASS reports.

In particular, Moscow will have to pay reparations to Kyiv. The resolution stipulates creation of a special list of damages that Russian inflicted on Ukraine.

The resolution was supported by 94 states, 17 opposed it, and 73 more abstained. Among those who voted against are: Belarus, Syria, China, Cuba, Iran, Zimbabwe and Eritrea.

Back in October, the UN General Assembly approved a resolution condemning the unlawful “referenda” in the so-called Donetsk and Luhansk “people’s republics” (“DPR” and “LPR”), as well as the Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine. A total of 143 states voted in favour of the resolution, 35 abstained. Five states voted against: Russia, Syria, Nicaragua, Belarus and North Korea. Participants of the session also called on Russia to cancel its decisions on annexing these territories.

Editor in chief — Kirill Martynov. Terms of use. Privacy policy.
We use cookies.
Privacy policy.

К сожалению, браузер, которым вы пользуетесь, устарел и не позволяет корректно отображать сайт. Пожалуйста, установите любой из современных браузеров.