Russia’s Constitutional Court approves treaties on ‘DPR’, ‘LPR’, parts of Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions joining Russia

The Constitutional Court of Russia has ruled that the treaties on joining the Russian Federation of the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk “people’s republics” as well as parts of the Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions were in line with the Russian Constitution, the according statement was published on the website of the Constitutional Court.

On 30 September, Russian President Vladimir Putin and “heads” of the self-proclaimed “DPR” and “LPR” as well as Russia-appointed heads of the occupied Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions Denis Pushilin, Leonid Pasechnik, Yevhen Balytskyi, and Volodymyr Saldo signed the treaties.

During his speech, Putin called on Ukraine to stop combat and renew negotiations, however, he noted that “the choice that the people of Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia, and Kherson have made” was not subject to discussion.

The screenshot from the signing ceremony on 30 September

The screenshot from the signing ceremony on 30 September

Afterwards, the UK, US, Canada, and Australia introduced new sanctions against Russians. In particular, the US and UK included Elvira Nabiullina, head of the Central Bank of Russia, in the new sanctions lists.

Editor in chief — Kirill Martynov. Terms of use. Privacy policy.