Latvia will not issue humanitarian visas to Russians evading mobilisation

Latvia will not issue humanitarian visas to Russian nationals evading mobilisation, the country’s foreign minister Edgars Rinkēvičs stated.

This decision was made for security reasons, he explained.

Border restrictions for Russian nationals entering Latvia, as well as border restrictions for Russian citizens with Schengen visas, will remain in place.

Starting from 19 September, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland banned entry to Russians holding Schengen visas, including the ones issued by other EU countries. Furthermore, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Denmark, Belgium, and the Netherlands no longer accept tourist visa applications from Russian citizens.

Earlier today, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced partial mobilisation in Russia. Defence Minister Sergei Shoigu stated that a total of 300,000 reservists would be drafted.

Editor in chief — Kirill Martynov. Terms of use. Privacy policy.

К сожалению, браузер, которым вы пользуетесь, устарел и не позволяет корректно отображать сайт. Пожалуйста, установите любой из современных браузеров.